Dawson: la géographie d'un territoire:  artist residency at the Klondike Institute of Art and Culture, Dawson City, Yukon, 2016. Live interview Monday October 24, 2016: Radio-Canada, première, Vancouver

Project exhibited as part of Ateliers 6235, May 17 to June 2, 2019

1/1

I harvested the clay in Bonanza Creek where one can find the White Channel gravel. The White Channel Gravel (Pliocene) is the most important gold-bearing unit in the famous Klondike goldfields of west-central Yukon.

texte de présentation

 

1/1

1/1

Chapman Lake, is by the Dempster Highway at 289 km from the Arctic Circle.  We stopped to see and heard these strange noises that we felt came from the depth of the lake. We were told  they  were from ice formation.  Dan Sokolowski, responsable for the artist residency at the  Klondike Institut of Art and Culture in Dawson City and myself recorded these eerie sounds. My artwork "Chapman Lake" is made of a wooden plinth of 1,8 x 1,8 meters under which are hidden vibrating speakers.The spectator is invited to walk on the pedestal and feel as much as hear the vibrations of the sounds.  I carved the map of the lake on the wooden pedestal.

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Website put together by: C'est Paulette

Dawson: la géographie d'un territoire: résidence d'artiste au Klondike Institute of Art and Culture, Dawson City, Yukon, 2016. Entrevue en direct du lundi 24 octobre 2016: Radio-Canada, première chaîne, Vancouver

Projet exposé dans le cadre des Ateliers 6235, 17 mai au 2 juin  2019

1/1

Mine d'or dans la vallée Bonanza tout proche de Dawson. L'argile que j'ai trouvé à cet endroit est mélangée aux graviers de White Channel. Ces graviers constituent l’unité aurifère la plus importante des champs aurifères de la région centre-ouest du Yukon et sont de renommée mondiale.

Texte de présentation du projet d'exposition

1/1

1/1

Chapman Lake, est un lac le long de la Dempster Highway à 289 km du cercle polaire.  Nous nous sommes arrêtés pour le voir et avons entendu des sons étranges de prises de glaces au fond du lac. Dan Sokolowski, responsable de la résidence d’artiste au Klondike Institut of Art and Culture et moi avons enregistrés ces sons. Mon œuvre intitulée Chapman Lake est un socle de bois de 1,8 x 1,8 mètre sous lequel des haut-parleurs vibreurs sont installés. Le spectateur est invité à marcher sur le socle de telle sorte à ressentir les vibrations des sons par opposition à seulement les entendre. J’ai gravé sur le socle la carte topographique du lac.

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Conception du site web par: C'est Paulette