Scelsi, 2004 - 2005, series of 9 pieces. The first were exhibited at the Lilian Rodriguez Gallery in December 2004 and at the Toronto Contemporary Art Fair in 2005.

Acoustic archeology is a field of research which inspired "Richard G. Woodbridge, who published in August 1969 an article in the journal of the eminent Institute of electrical and electronic engineers, The Proceedings of the IEEE, under the title " Acoustic Recordings From Antiquity ". The romantic scholar explained that he had carried out studies of sound recordings involuntarily engraved on the surface of ancient objects, in particular pottery. affix the needle of a vinyl turntable on the vase or the brushstroke studied and "a low frequency chatter could be heard through the headphones", supposedly the conversation of the people present during the making of the pottery ".

From the article by Juliette Volcler, Hear the past, November 23, 2016

 

I had read this story elsewhere, but only after naming this ensemble Scelsi,  after the contemporary Italian composer. Did I have the intuition that these pieces retained in them a song, their own song, the color?

 

Immediately the eye slides into the hollow of the jet black bowls, whose walls are folded back on themselves. In the center, an opening lets see the inside covered with a turquoise and cracked glaze. Again, the eye can hardly judge of the depth. The optical effect is explained by the concave shape of the piece and the reflective shine of the turquoise glaze. Unlike the mirror whose virtual image is behind, in a concave form the virtual image is in front. The perspective remains confused creating the illusion of a floating color, captive of light.

Joseph Branco made a serie of drawings to accompany the "Scelci".

 

Stéphane D'Amour, poet, wrote this poem as a tribute to the drawings and the ceramic pieces.

 

vu
de haut
cercle noir
le son rond
en son bleu
monté à l’eau
gazeuse
d’une planète
par

le saut

elliptique
 

poème de Stéphane D'Amour

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Website put together by: C'est Paulette

Scelsi,  2004 - 2005, série de 9 pièces. Les premières furent exposées à la galerie Lilian Rodriguez en décembre  2004 et à la foire d'art contemporain de Toronto en 2005.

L’archéologie acoustique est un domaine de recherche qui inspira "Richard G. Woodbridge, qui publia en août 1969 un article dans la revue de l’éminent Institut des ingénieurs électriciens et électroniciens, The Proceedings of the IEEE, sous le titre « Acoustic Recordings From Antiquity ». Le romanesque savant y expliquait avoir mené des études d’enregistrements sonores involontairement gravés à la surface d’objets anciens, notamment des poteries. Il suffisait, selon lui, d’apposer l’aiguille d’une platine vinyle sur le vase ou le trait de pinceau étudiés et « un bavardage de basse fréquence pouvait être entendu à travers le casque audio », supposément la conversation des personnes présentes lors de la fabrication de la poterie".

Tiré de l'article de Juliette Volcler, entendre le passé, 23 novembre 2016

 

J'avais lu cette histoire ailleurs, mais seulement après avoir nommé cet ensemble Scelsi, du nom du compositeur contemporain italien. Ai-je eu l’intuition que ces pièces retenaient en elles un chant, leur propre chant, la couleur?

D’emblée le regard glisse au creux des bols noir jais, dont les parois sont repliées sur elle-même. Au centre, une ouverture laisse voir le fond recouvert d’une glaçure turquoise et craquelée. Là encore, l’œil arrive mal à juger l’espace. L’effet optique s’explique par la forme concave du fond et la brillance réfléchissante de la glaçure turquoise. Contrairement au miroir dont l’image virtuelle se trouve derrière, dans une forme concave l’image virtuelle se trouve devant. La perspective demeure confuse créant l’illusion d’une couleur flottante, captive de la lumière.

Joseph Branco a produit des oeuvres pour accommpagner les "Scelci".

 

Le poète Stéphane D'Amour a écrit le poème qui suit en hommage aux dessins et aux céramiques

 

vu
de haut
cercle noir
le son rond
en son bleu
monté à l’eau
gazeuse
d’une planète
par

le saut

elliptique
 

poème de Stéphane D'Amour

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Conception du site web par: C'est Paulette