Songs of Clay, 2 performances were presented at 2 and 4 pm, Saturday December 5 2015, at the Montreal Fine Arts Museum, Hydro-Québec Hall, Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion, Level 4

Songs of Clay

Lysa Iqaluk et Laura Iqaluk, voices

Ziya Tabassian, percussions

Marie Côté, ceramics

 

 

December 5 has been designated by the United Nations General Assembly as World Soil Day.  The world is thus invited to ponder the importance of soils and their exceptional richness. Soils are essential to all of our needs. They are alive.

 

Our project is rooted in this living treasure. Songs of Clay is an artistic endeavour and collaborative work engaging different cultures and pooling three art forms – Inuit throat singing (Katajjak), percussion, and ceramics. Four artists, of Inuit, Persian and Quebecois origins, found common grounds at the heart of a shared space where the immateriality of Lysa Iqaluk and Laura Iqaluk’s voices singing their arctic territory and all it has to offer are accompanied by Ziya Tabassian’s beating drums and the resonance of Marie Côté’s ceramics.

 

Keeping up with life, Songs of Clay reflects parcels of land and sparkles of voices.

 

  

ᐃᓐᖏᓗᑦᑖᕈᓰᑦ ᐊᕐᓇᓇᕿᐊᒧᑦ / ᒪᕐᕋᒧᑦ

 

ᓓᓴ ᐃᖃᓗᒃ ᐊᒻᒪᓗ ᓗᐊᔭ ᐃᖃᓗᒃ, ᑲᑕᑦᔭᑏᒃ

Ziya Tabassian, ᐊᑦᓴᑕᕐᑎ

Marie Côté, ᐴᒍᑕᕐᓂᒃ ᒪᕐᕋᓕᕆᔨ

 

United Nations General Assembly- ᒥᐅᑦ (ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥᐅᑦ ᑲᑐᑦᔨᖃᑎᒌᓐᓂᖓᑕ ᑲᑎᒪᓂᒻᒪᕆᕕᓂᖓ) ᐋᕐᔪᓕᐅᑦ (ᑎᓯᐱᕆ) 5-ᒥᒃ ᑐᕌᖓᑎᑦᓯᕗᑦ ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥ ᓯᕐᒥᐅᑉ ᐅᓪᓗᖁᑎᒋᑕᖓᓂᐅᒃ. ᑌᒣᒻᒪᑦ ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥᐅᑦᙯᕐᖁᔭᐅᕗᑦ ᐃᓱᒪᒐᓱᐊᖃᑎᒌᖁᔭᐅᑦᓱᑎᒃ ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥ ᓯᕐᒦᑦ ᐱᒻᒪᕆᐅᓂᖏᑦᑕ ᒥᑦᓵᓄᑦ ᖃᓄᕐᓗ ᐊᑦᓱᐃᑑᒻᒪᖔᑕ.ᓯᕐᒦᑦ ᑭᓐᖒᒪᒋᔭᓕᒫᑦᑎᓄᑦ ᐊᑐᕐᑐᓚᕆᐊᓘᕗᑦ ᐆᒪᒐᒥᒃ ᐊᓂᕐᑎᕆᔪᕐᑎᑐᑦ.

 

ᐱᓇᓱᐊᕐᑕᕗᑦ ᐱᓯᒪᕗᖅ ᑖᑦᓱᒪᓐᖓ ᐆᒪᑦᓱᓂ ᐃᓪᓕᓇᕐᑐᒪᕆᒻᒥᑦ. ᐃᓐᖏᓗᑦᑖᕈᓰᑦ ᐊᕐᓇᓇᕿᐊᒧᑦ / ᒪᕐᕋᒧᑦᑕᑯᒥᓇᕐᑐᓕᐅᕐᓂᒧᑦ ᐊᔪᐃᓐᓇᓂᓪᓚᕆᐅᑦᓱᓂ ᐃᑲᔪᕐᑎᒌᒍᑕᐅᓚᐅᔪᕗᖅ ᐃᓚᐅᑎᓪᓗᒋᑦ ᐊᑦᔨᒌᓐᖏᑐᑦᐃᓗᕐᕈᓰᑦ ᐱᖓᓱᐃᓕᕿᖓᑎᓗᒍ ᑐᓴᕐᓂᔮᕐᑎᓯᓂᖅ - ᐃᓅᒃ ᑲᑕᑦᔭᑎᓪᓗᒋᒃ, ᐊᑦᓴᑕᕐᑐᖃᕐᑎᓗᒍ ᐊᒻᒪᓗ ᐴᒍᑌᑦᒪᕐᕃᑦ ᓱᕐᕙᓛᑎᑕᐅᑎᓪᓗᒋᑦ. ᓯᑕᒪᑦ ᑐᓴᕐᓂᑐᓕᐅᕐᑏᑦ, ᐃᓄᐃᑦ, Persia- ᒥᐅᑦ (ᑕᕆᐅᑉ ᐊᑭᐊᓂ) ᑯᐯᒻᒥᐅᔦᓪᓗ ᓇᕝᕚᓚᐅᔪᑦ ᐊᑦᔨᒌᒥᒃ ᐱᓇᓱᐊᕆᐊᒥᒃ ᐃᓂᒥᓂᒃ ᐊᑦᑕᒥᒐᐅᑎᑦᓱᑎᒃ ᓲᕐᓗ ᐊᓂᕐᓂᖃᓐᖏᑐᕐᑎᑐᑦᓓᓴ ᐃᖃᓗᒃ ᓗᐊᔭ ᐃᖃᓘᓪᓗ ᑲᑕᑦᔭᑎᓪᓗᒋᒃ ᐅᑭᐅᕐᑕᑐᒥᐅᒍᓂᒋᒃ ᑐᓴᕐᓴᒪᕆᐅᑎᓪᓗᒋᒃ Ziya Tabassian ᐊᑦᓴᑕᕐᑎᓗᒍ Marie Côté- ᑕᐅᖅ ᓱᕐᕙᓛᑎᑦᓯᑎᓗᒍ ᐴᒍᑕᕐᓂᒃ ᒪᕐᕋᓂᒃ.

 

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Website put together by: C'est Paulette

Voix d'argile, 2 performances présentées le samedi 5 décembre 2015  à 14 h et 16 h au musée des beaux-arts de MontréalEspace Hydro-Québec, Pavillon Claire et Marc Bourgie - niveau 4

Voix d'argile

Lysa Iqaluk et Laura Iqaluk, voix

Ziya Tabassian, percussions

Marie Côté, céramique

 

 

Le 5 décembre 2015 a été proclamé Journée mondiale des sols par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies. L’invitation lancée au monde entier à réfléchir sur leur importance nous interpelle. Les sols recèlent des richesses et sont essentiels à nos besoins. Ils sont vivants.

 

C’est à ce trésor vivant que notre projet s’arrime. Voix d’argile est une proposition artistique et de collaboration qui cherche à ouvrir un dialogue entre différentes cultures. C’est la mise en commun de trois formes d’art, le chant de gorge inuit (katajjaq), les percussions et la céramique. C’est la rencontre de quatre artistes dont les origines, inuite, perse et québécoise, se rejoignent au cœur d’un espace de partage où s’accompagnent l’immatérialité des voix de Lysa Iqaluk et de Laura Iqaluk qui chantent leur territoire arctique et ce qu’il donne à entendre, les battements des tambours de Ziya Tabassian et les résonances des céramiques de Marie Côté.

 

Voix d’argile recense, au rythme de la vie, des parcelles de terre et des éclats de voix.

ᐃᓐᖏᓗᑦᑖᕈᓰᑦ ᐊᕐᓇᓇᕿᐊᒧᑦ/ᒪᕐᕋᒧᑦ

ᓓᓴ ᐃᖃᓗᒃ ᐊᒻᒪᓗ ᓗᐊᔭ ᐃᖃᓗᒃ, ᑲᑕᑦᔭᑏᒃ

Ziya Tabassian, ᐊᑦᓴᑕᕐᑎ

Marie Côté, ᐴᒍᑕᕐᓂᒃ ᒪᕐᕋᓕᕆᔨ

United Nations General Assembly-ᒥᐅᑦ (ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥᐅᑦ ᑲᑐᑦᔨᖃᑎᒌᓐᓂᖓᑕ ᑲᑎᒪᓂᒻᒪᕆᕕᓂᖓ)ᐋᕐᔪᓕᐅᑦ (ᑎᓯᐱᕆ) 5-ᒥᒃ ᑐᕌᖓᑎᑦᓯᕗᑦ ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥ ᓯᕐᒥᐅᑉ ᐅᓪᓗᖁᑎᒋᑕᖓᓂᐅᒃ. ᑌᒣᒻᒪᑦ ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥᐅᑦᙯᕐᖁᔭᐅᕗᑦ ᐃᓱᒪᒐᓱᐊᖃᑎᒌᖁᔭᐅᑦᓱᑎᒃ ᓯᓚᕐᔪᐊᒥ ᓯᕐᒦᑦ ᐱᒻᒪᕆᐅᓂᖏᑦᑕ ᒥᑦᓵᓄᑦ ᖃᓄᕐᓗ ᐊᑦᓱᐃᑑᒻᒪᖔᑕ.ᓯᕐᒦᑦ ᑭᓐᖒᒪᒋᔭᓕᒫᑦᑎᓄᑦ ᐊᑐᕐᑐᓚᕆᐊᓘᕗᑦ ᐆᒪᒐᒥᒃ ᐊᓂᕐᑎᕆᔪᕐᑎᑐᑦ.

 

ᐱᓇᓱᐊᕐᑕᕗᑦ ᐱᓯᒪᕗᖅ ᑖᑦᓱᒪᓐᖓ ᐆᒪᑦᓱᓂ ᐃᓪᓕᓇᕐᑐᒪᕆᒻᒥᑦ. ᐃᓐᖏᓗᑦᑖᕈᓰᑦ ᐊᕐᓇᓇᕿᐊᒧᑦ/ᒪᕐᕋᒧᑦᑕᑯᒥᓇᕐᑐᓕᐅᕐᓂᒧᑦ ᐊᔪᐃᓐᓇᓂᓪᓚᕆᐅᑦᓱᓂ ᐃᑲᔪᕐᑎᒌᒍᑕᐅᓚᐅᔪᕗᖅ ᐃᓚᐅᑎᓪᓗᒋᑦ ᐊᑦᔨᒌᓐᖏᑐᑦᐃᓗᕐᕈᓰᑦ ᐱᖓᓱᐃᓕᕿᖓᑎᓗᒍ ᑐᓴᕐᓂᔮᕐᑎᓯᓂᖅ - ᐃᓅᒃ ᑲᑕᑦᔭᑎᓪᓗᒋᒃ, ᐊᑦᓴᑕᕐᑐᖃᕐᑎᓗᒍ ᐊᒻᒪᓗ ᐴᒍᑌᑦᒪᕐᕃᑦ ᓱᕐᕙᓛᑎᑕᐅᑎᓪᓗᒋᑦ. ᓯᑕᒪᑦ ᑐᓴᕐᓂᑐᓕᐅᕐᑏᑦ, ᐃᓄᐃᑦ, Persia-ᒥᐅᑦ (ᑕᕆᐅᑉ ᐊᑭᐊᓂ)ᑯᐯᒻᒥᐅᔦᓪᓗ ᓇᕝᕚᓚᐅᔪᑦ ᐊᑦᔨᒌᒥᒃ ᐱᓇᓱᐊᕆᐊᒥᒃ ᐃᓂᒥᓂᒃ ᐊᑦᑕᒥᒐᐅᑎᑦᓱᑎᒃ ᓲᕐᓗ ᐊᓂᕐᓂᖃᓐᖏᑐᕐᑎᑐᑦᓓᓴ ᐃᖃᓗᒃ ᓗᐊᔭ ᐃᖃᓘᓪᓗ ᑲᑕᑦᔭᑎᓪᓗᒋᒃ ᐅᑭᐅᕐᑕᑐᒥᐅᒍᓂᒋᒃ ᑐᓴᕐᓴᒪᕆᐅᑎᓪᓗᒋᒃ Ziya Tabassianᐊᑦᓴᑕᕐᑎᓗᒍ Marie Côté-ᑕᐅᖅ ᓱᕐᕙᓛᑎᑦᓯᑎᓗᒍ ᐴᒍᑕᕐᓂᒃ ᒪᕐᕋᓂᒃ.

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Conception du site web par: C'est Paulette