Of Bowls and voices , exhibition presented at Oboro from April 27 to June 1, 2013, at the Clay and Glass Gallery from June 27 to September 1, 2013 under the title Of Vessels and Voices and as part of Ground Signal at the Surrey Art Gallery from September 23 to December 10, 2017

Oboro ,

Opuscule written by Marie Perrault and published by Oboro

Performances by Lysa Iqalik and Annesie Nowkawalk

Elektra 14 Anti / Matter

International Festival of Digital Arts, Montreal, May 1 - 5, 2103

Text by Jean-Émile Verdier on "Bowls and voices games"

Commentary: La source, forum de la diversité

Singers: Margaret Mina and Ida Oweetaluktuk

Bowls and recordings: Marie Côté

Audio video editing: Olivier Girouard

1/1

My project is a visual and sound installation which also includes a series of clay drawings on paper. I produced this body of work in Inukjuak, Nunavik, over the summer of 2011 through a grant and an artist-in-residence program subsidised by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Aumaaggiivik (Nunavik Arts Secretariat), the Kativik Regional Government, and Air Inuit.

Eight throat singers sang with and in the porcelain bowls I made specifically for the occasion. I recorded their chants in four different locations: at the Avataq Cultural Institute, in the community family centre Sungirtuivik, in a traditional Inuit inter-seasonal dwelling called a qarmaq, and in a house that served as my residence for the time I was there. Along with the music, the recordings also include the conversations between the singers, the repetition of particular melodic motifs, and the ambient sounds of everyday life in the north.

I initially got the idea of singing and bowls when I heard Inuit singers in a concert given by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Maestro Kent Nagano. I was intrigued by the proximity of the singers’ mouths when singing and later asked one of them why were they so close to one another. She told me it was for the echo. This simple answer suddenly propelled my research into the world of Inuit vocal games, voice and echo. If sound reverberates through juxtaposed mouths, why not add to the phenomenon of sound reflection an element – porcelain bowls – capable in their very form of reverberation and resonance? It is around this question that my project Of Bowls and Voices finds its source and inspiration.

The installation includes four porcelain elements or diffusers that play back the recordings through hidden speakers. When, by chance, one of the throat singer’s voices finds itself in harmony with the resonance of a bowl, the sound seems to spin and elevate itself in a gyratory movement that coincides perfectly with the roundness of the bowls. And within the same movement and in the same space, the bowls and voices reform and situate for the eye and the ear a little bit of the North’s colour and intonation. The circularity of the mouth and the bowls and speakers, and the northern sky all play off one another.

Voices : Elisabeth Nalukturuk, Nellie Nappatuk, Sarah Naqtai, Phoebe Atagotaaluk-Aculiak, Lysa Kasudluak Iqaluk, Margaret Mina, Annesie Nowkawalk et Ida Oweetaluktuk

Sound excerpts: Of Bowls and Voices

Sound editing: Olivier Girouard

1/1

1/1

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Website put together by: C'est Paulette

Jeux de bols et de voix, exposition présentée au centre Oboro du 27 avril au 1er juin 2013,  à la Clay and Glass Gallery du 27 juin au 1er septembre 2013 sous le titre Of Vessels and Voices et dans le cadre de Ground Signal à la Surrey Art Gallery du 23 septembre au 10 décembre 2017

Oboro,

Opuscule écrit par Marie Perrault et publié par Oboro  

Performances de Lysa Iqalik et Annesie Nowkawalk 

Elektra 14 Anti/Matière

Festival international d'arts numériques, Montréal, 1 - 5 mai 2103

Texte de Jean-Émile Verdier à propos de "Jeux de bols et de voix"

Commentaire: La source, forum de la diversité

 Chanteuses: Margaret Mina et Ida Oweetaluktuk

 Bols et enregistrements: Marie Côté

 Montage audio vidéo: Olivier Girouard

1/1

Mon projet se présente sous la forme d’une installation sonore et visuelle à laquelle s’ajoute une série de dessins à l’argile sur papier. J’ai réalisé ce corpus à Inukjuak au Nunavik, à l’été 2011, dans le cadre d’une résidence d’artiste subventionnée par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ), Aumaaggiivik (le Secrétariat des arts du Nunavik), l’Administration régionale Kativik et Air Inuit.

Huit chanteuses de gorge inuites ont chanté dans et avec des bols de porcelaine que j’avais préalablement conçus et tournés pour l’occasion. J’ai enregistré leurs chants dans quatre lieux différents, soit : dans un bureau de l’Institut culturel Avataq, le centre d’entraide familial Sungirtuivik, dans une habitation semi-souterraine traditionnelle appelée qarmaq et à la maison qui me servait de résidence. Les enregistrements de ces sessions de chants incluent aussi les conversations des chanteuses entre elles, les reprises de tel ou tel motif mélodique ainsi que des bruits ambiants de la vie courante.

L’idée de ce projet m’est venue en entendant deux chanteuses de gorge, dans le cadre d’un concert symphonique dirigé par Maestro Kent Nagano. La proximité de leurs bouches lorsqu’elles chantaient m’a intriguée. Elles m’ont alors expliqué que cette proximité favorisait l’écho de leurs chants respectifs. Cette réponse toute simple a stimulé chez moi des recherches autour des jeux vocaux et de leurs échos. Si le son se réverbère de la bouche d’une chanteuse à l’autre, pourquoi ne pas ajouter à ce phénomène de réflexion du son, des bols capables, dans leur forme et leur matière même, de réverbération et de résonance?

Mon installation consiste à diffuser ces enregistrements au moyen d’autres bols de porcelaine où sont dissimulés des haut-parleurs. Quand la voix d’une chanteuse entre par hasard en harmonie avec la résonnance d’un bol, le son tourne et s’élève dans un mouvement giratoire qui coïncide parfaitement avec la rondeur des bols. Dans un même mouvement et dans un même espace, les bols et les voix restituent alors au regard et à l’écoute, un peu de la couleur et du souffle du Nord. Et dans un même temps, ils nous ouvrent à sa persistante circularité.

 

Voix : Elisabeth Nalukturuk, Nellie Nappatuk, Sarah Naqtai, Phoebe Atagotaaluk-Aculiak, Lysa Kasudluak Iqaluk, Margaret Mina, Annesie Nowkawalk et Ida Oweetaluktuk

Extraits sonores: Jeux de bols et de voix

Montage sonore: Olivier Girouard

1/1

1/1

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Conception du site web par: C'est Paulette