Harvesting the Waterfall , is a research project whose goal is to create an installation that will bring together my new drawings of raw clay with music recordings, on a vinyl disc, of four of my collaborators: Ziya Tabassian, percussionist, Olivier Girouard electroacoustician and composer, Peter Morin artist and curator of the Tahltans First Nation and Navid Navab multidisciplinary artist and composer. This project is subsidized by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

 

Clay sourced in summer at rang Saint-François in Saint-Hyacinthe. The plain of Montreal is the main sedimentation basin of clay and silt of the Champlain Sea. Its presence dates back 10,000 years.

 

In the making

I see Harvesting the Waterfall as a place, the one that each of us seeks to inhabit as an artist and where all our experiences, our stories, our dreams and our projects are concentrated. I dare to believe that in this place, where my project is based, it is also possible to tell, share and support our desires and hopes. .

 

I understand “sharing” as a way to advance, to progress, to move forward. It is the promising and current element of a proposal which is based, after all, on traditional artistic practices: ceramics, music and the making of a vinyl record. Living in a place, was it as abstract as being an artist in the world today, is discovering over time the meaning of our actions and feeling all that is linked to it. It is the possibility of enlarging the circle. It is to be open to what is.

 

Singing and resonanting bowl

Micro-breath

Freshly thrown clay from Saint-Hyacinthe 

Micro-breath

Ziya Tabassian: drum skin

1/1

Micro gatherings

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Website put together by: C'est Paulette

Là où cueillir la chuteest un projet de recherche dont le but est de créer une installation qui réunira mes nouveaux dessins d’argile crue à des enregistrements de musiques, sur disque vinyle, de quatre de mes collaborateurs : Ziya Tabassian, percussionniste, Olivier Girouard électroacousticien et compositeur, Peter Morin artiste et commissaire de la première nation des Tahltans et Navid Navab artiste multidisciplinaire et compositeur. Ce projet est subventionné par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

En production

Argile cueillie en été au rang Saint-François à Saint-Hyacinthe

J’entrevois Là où cueillir la chute comme un lieu, celui que chacun de nous cherche à habiter en tant qu’artiste et où se concentrent toutes nos expériences, nos histoires, où s’imaginent nos rêves et où s’élaborent nos projets. J’ose croire que dans ce lieu, où mon projet trouve ses assises, il est aussi possible de raconter, partager et soutenir nos désirs et nos espoirs.

La possibilité de partage comme moteur d’avancement est l’élément porteur et actuel d’une proposition qui s’appuie somme toute sur des pratiques artistiques traditionnelles : la céramique, la musique et la fabrication d’un disque vinyle. Habiter un lieu, fut-il aussi abstrait que d’être un artiste dans le monde aujourd’hui, c’est découvrir au fil du temps le sens de nos actions et sentir tout ce qui s’y lie. C’est la possibilité d’agrandir le cercle. C’est être ouvert à ce qui est.

Bol chantant et résonant

Micros souffles

Argile de Saint-Hyacinthe fraîchement tournée

Micros souffles

Ziya Tabassian: peau de tambour

Les Ateliers 6235

6235 Papineau, local 203

Montréal

 

© 2020 Marie Côté 

Conception du site web par: C'est Paulette